and those parts of Quebec and the Northwest Territories east of the 68th meridian of west longitude. Eastern standard time, which is the local time at the 75th meridian running near Cornwall, Ont., and is thus five hours behind Greenwich, is used in Quebec west of the 68th meridian, in Ontario east of the 90th meridian and in the Northwest Territories between the 68th and 85th meridians. Central standard time, which is the local time at the 90th meridian, is six hours behind Greenwich and is used in Ontario west of the 90th meridian, in Manitoba, in the Northwest Territories between the 85th and the 102nd meridians and in the southeasterly part of Saskatchewan. Mountain time, which is the local time at the 105th meridian running near Regina, is seven hours behind Greenwich and is used throughout Saskatchewan except in the southeasterly part, throughout Alberta and in that part of the Northwest Territories between the 102nd and 120th meridians. standard time, which is the local time of the 120th meridian running near Kamloops, British Columbia, is eight hours behind Greenwich and is used throughout British Columbia and in that part of the Northwest Territories lying west of the 120th meridian. Yukon standard time, which is the local time at the 135th meridian. running near Whitehorse, Yukon, is nine hours behind Greenwich and is used throughout the Yukon Territory. Thus throughout Canada there are no fewer than seven different standard times roughly corresponding with the 88 degrees of longitude between St. John's, Newfoundland, and the Alaskan boundary.

Some municipalities adopt the time used by the local railways, which in some cases differs from the standard, and there are also villages that adopt such time as seems best to suit their convenience, but, in general, the legal boundaries of the different time zones are actually in use. The boundaries of the standard time zones in Canada and Newfoundland are shown in the map on p. 72.

Daylight Saving Time.—For some years before the First World War there was active propaganda, particularly in the cities, for the use of an earlier time, usually referred to as "daylight saving time", one hour ahead of standard time, during the summer months. It was considered that both from the economic and from the health point of view, the people, particularly in industrial towns and cities, would gain by beginning work earlier in the morning and having a longer period of sunlight at their disposal for recreation after the work of the day was over. The United Kingdom adopted daylight saving time in 1916. The United States and Canada followed suit in 1918, but the Canadian Act lapsed at the end of that year. Since that date, however, various towns and cities have adopted daylight saving by-laws for varying periods in the summer months.

Legal Authority for the Time Zones.—All regulations made in Canada concerning standard time, except the Daylight Saving Act of 1918, have been passed by the Provincial Legislatures and the Northwest Territories Council. This legislation, besides determining the boundaries of zones, regulates such matters as the times of coming into effect or expiration of Acts, ordinances, contracts and agreements, times of opening and closing registration offices, law courts, post offices and other public offices, times of open or close seasons for game, times of opening and closing business houses and places of amusement.